Leesha and Keelin

Keelin Kissane, a native of Lisselton, has been elected as the new chairperson of the Kerry Association in Dublin. Keelin, who has been vice-chairperson for the last three years, succeeds Leesha Duffy of Dromid.

Mary Shanahan of Valentia Island has been elected as vice-chairperson. Laura Keane from Listowel and Cian O’Daly from Tralee have joined as new members of the committee.

At the recent AGM, Association President, Christy McCarthy, paid tribute to Leesha for her contribution to the Association over the last number of years and in particular during her tenure as chairperson from 2014 to 2017. Christy also welcomed the new incoming committee.

Also present at the AGM was 2017 Kerry Person of the Year, Ted Moynihan, who was presented with a cheque for €5,100 for his nominated charity, the Kerry Hospice. This represented the proceeds of the raffle and auction held at the recent Oíche Chiarraí, at which Ted was formally presented with his award as 2017 Kerry Person of the Year.

(Pictured above are right, Keelin Kissane, incoming chairperson, making a presentation to outgoing chairperson, Leesha Duffy, left)